Mission Statement

The Tŝilhqot’in National Government’s mission is to empower Tŝilhqot’in peoples to exercise, effectively and appropriately, their rights to self-determination in their traditional territories in ways which reflect Tŝilhqot’in philosophy, values, experience and culture.

December 2021 Tŝilhqot’in Nits’ilʔinqi (Council of Chiefs)

Tŝilhqot’in Nits’ilʔin-Qi (Chiefs)

Nits’ilʔin Joe Alphonse, O.B.C. – Tribal Chairman (Tl’etinqox)

Nits’ilʔin Joe Alphonse holds an honorary Doctor of Laws from the University of Victoria and is a member of the Order of British Columbia. He has been Chief of the Tl’etinqox-t’in Government since 2009 and remains the longest elected Chief in the history of Tl’etinqox-t’in. From 2000 to 2009 Chief Alphonse acted as the Director of Government and Services at the TNG. From 1997 to 2000 he attended Lethbridge Community College for Environmental and Political Science and managed Punky Lake Wilderness Camp Society in 2000. Chief Alphonse also acted as a Council member of Tl’etinqox-t’in from 1989 to 1993.

Chief Alphonse played an instrumental role in the Tŝilhqot’in Nation vs. British Columbia Aboriginal Title case. As a fluent speaker of Tŝilhqot’in, Chief Alphonse is a fifth generation Tŝilhqot’in Chief and the direct decedent of Chief Anaham, the Grand Chief of the Tŝilhqot’in Nation during the Chilcotin War of 1864. Chief Alphonse has brought stability, consistency and respectability into the many roles he has been honoured to hold within his community and Nation.

In August 2021, Chief Alphonse was appointed to the Order of British Columbia for his enduring commitment to the recognition of rights and title and improvement of the well-being of the Tŝilhqot’in people. In November 2022, Chief Alphonse received an Honorary Doctor of Laws from the University of Victoria.

Nits’ilʔin Francis Laceese – (Tl’esqox)

Chief Francis Laceese has dedicated a majority of his lifetime to serving his community through leadership roles. Francis was elected Chief of Tl’esqox (Toosey First Nation) since 1998, as well as previously holding a council position from 1994-1998 and Band Manger position. Chief Laceese is on the Board of Directors for the Tŝilhqot’in National Government, focusing on issues related to rights and title, food security and the environment. With a keen focus on international relations, Chief Laceese has been voicing concerns of the Tŝilhqot’in on a global scale through the United Nations and other Indigenous groups. Fighting for the full jurisdiction of Tŝilhqot’in lands has always been at the forefront of his work. Focusing also on family and child well-being, Chief Laceese has been the President of Denisiqi Services Society since 2017, serving on the Board of Directors for over a decade. When not working, Chief Laceese enjoys spending time with his family on the land, gathering, fishing and hunting.

Nits’ilʔin Troy Baptiste – (ʔEsdilagh)

Biography coming soon.

Nits’ilʔin Otis Guichon – Vice Chairman (Tŝideldel)

Chief Otis Guichon was elected as Chief of the Tŝi Deldel First Nation (TDD FN) (formerly known as Alexis Creek First Nation) in 2018. Prior to this he served as a council member for 20 years.

Chief Guichon is the president of Tŝi Del Del Enterprises Ltd, a joint forestry venture between TDD FN and Tolko Industries Ltd. He is also the chairperson of the Yeqox Nilin Justice Society (formerly known as Punky Lake Wilderness Camp Society) and on the board of directors for the Central Chilcotin Rehabilitation joint venture. Chief Guichon is also directly involved in the operation of maintenance of his community, including water treatment and other community infrastructure.

Chief Guichon and his wonderful wife, Dinah, have 15 grand children of whom they do traditional activities with such as camping, hunting, fishing and gathering berries. Chief Guichon believes in giving back to his community through volunteering his time and expertise.

Nits’ilʔin Jimmy Lulua – (Xeni Gwet’in)

Chief Jimmy Lulua was elected as Chief of Xeni Gwet’in First Nation (Nemiah) in 2018. Chief Lulua carries the responsibility and the privilege of governing the only declared Aboriginal title land in Canada, including full jurisdiction. His previous work surrounded youth and wellness within the Nation. Chief Lulua’s passion for education led to his appointment to the Thompson Rivers University (TRU) Board of Governors in 2020. Chief Lulua enjoys being on the land and works to pass down learning and experience through the generations. Notably, the sacred place known as Teẑtan Biny (Fish Lake), lies within his caretaker area. Chief Lulua continues to advocate and protect the lands and waterways in this area from large scale development as well as ensuring that Aboriginal rights and title are understood and respected by all levels of government and industry.

Nits’ilʔin Lennon Solomon (Yuneŝit’in)

Chief Solomon was elected Chief of Yuneŝit’in in 2020. He previously held a council position with the Yuneŝit’in Government between 2002 and 2006. Chief Solomon was also with the Tŝilhqot’in National Government as a resource worker for 6 years. Son of Joanna Haines (Yuneŝit’in) and Rodney Solomon (Tl’esqox), Chief Solomon is passionate about addressing mental health and addiction issues within the Nation. On his time away from work, Chief Solomon enjoys hunting, fishing and being a hockey Dad with his teenage daughter.